The Influences of a Country Girl

09Sep09

Just when you thought you knew me I go and flip the script on you!  Since the “big move”, I have made 2 life altering changes and they stem directly from being reunited with my very COUNTRY sister.

Life Altering Change #1:

I LOVE COUNTRY MUSIC!  Shocking right?!  I would have never believed it either.  It all started when she begged me to learn a line dance to Copperhead Road for her wedding reception.  I was like what?!  You can actually shake your booty to country music?  Count me in!  My addiction grew even stronger when we went to a country western bar for her bachelorette party!  There I was surrounded by the reddest of rednecks, having a great time and wishing that I owned a pair of cowgirl boots to line dance in.  I was completely sold when I heard the song “On My Front Porch Looking In” by Lonestar.  There is a verse that was written for my life specifically:

My blessings are in front of me
It’s not about the land
I’ll never beat the view
From my front porch looking in

There’s a carrot top who can barely walk
With a sippy cup of milk
A little blue eyed blonde with shoes on wrong
‘Cause she likes to dress herself

That’s my life!  If everyone listened to country music, the world would be a sweeter place…redder, but definitely sweeter!

  

Life Altering Change #2:

PESCETARIANISM defined by Wikipedia, is the practice of a diet that includes seafood, vegetables, fruits, nuts, some egg and some dairy.  This is what I am, and once again it is my sister’s fault. 

My pescetarian diet began with the purchase of 6 adorable Road Island Red chicks.  They are the most adorable little things I have ever seen and are oddly the golden color of a freshly fried chicken nugget.  I didn’t realize that I would no longer be eating chicken, until the next day when my daughter asked for chicken nuggets and I spontaneously threw up in my mouth.  The eversion to meat only continued to worsen with an article I read the same day that really got me thinking about the food industry and their practices: WARNING if you have a sensitive stomach you may want to skip this article- http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,545540,00.html?test=latestnews .

 Now if they could only find a way to make ice cream repulsive!

2 Responses to “The Influences of a Country Girl”

  1. HAAAAAAAAAHAHAHA OMG THIS IS THE FUNNIEST THING I’VE EVER HEARD!!! I just had chicken for dinner last night. And after it was over I cuddled with a cute little baby chick, and was wondering if it would taste better with sweet & spicy or honey mustard…. Hmmmm….

  2. I completely skipped over #1!!! I went back and re-read what I missed- you better still be listening to country music even though the wedding is passed! You never know when we’ll do another girl’s night out to the redneck bar!!! And you’re right- the world would be a much, much better place! So when are you moving out to the country??? 🙂 xo!


Leave a Reply

